COMITÉ DE DIRECTION

 

Dirk Naumann, Ph.D., Président

Dr Naumann est un exécutif de haut niveau possédant une longue expérience dans le développement et la commercialisation de nouvelles technologies et de produits novateurs sur les marchés internationaux. Il détient un doctorat en chimie physique avec une spécialisation en thermodynamique et ingénierie chimique. Au cours de ses 30 années de carrière, M. Naumann a été activement impliqué dans la conception de nouveaux produits et de procédés et la construction et l’ingénierie des projets industriels majeurs requis pour en assurer la production. Dr Naumann a travaillé pour Bayer AG, Inco Ltd et d'autres sociétés de ressources à l'échelle internationale, avec un accent sur l'extraction des métaux et le raffinage, les métaux de haute pureté, et des matériaux et des composés pour des applications spécialisées. Plus récemment, il a conseillé des entreprises européennes et américaines cherchant à intensifier leurs procédés afin d'améliorer leur efficacité et leur durabilité par la réduction de leur consommation énergétique et la production de sous-produits indésirables.

Alain Wilson, Vice-président et chef de la direction financière

Alain est un consultant en gestion avec une vaste expérience en matière de stratégie et d'analyse financière dans l'industrie minière et des métaux. Au cours des 30 dernières années, Alain a œuvré avec des cadres supérieurs sur des questions stratégiques en Amérique du Nord et à l'étranger. Il a été vice-président et chef du bureau de Toronto pour Mercer Management Consulting (aujourd'hui Oliver Wyman), et plus récemment un partenaire fondateur de Revelstoke Partners, une firme de consultation axée sur l'aide aux entreprises de taille moyenne. Alain s'est investi dans une multitude de projets présentant des défis variés dans l'industrie des métaux, incluant celle des terres rares. Alain a également agi comme chef de la direction financière et de façon intérimaire dans un bon nombre d'entreprises privées, notamment dans l'industrie de technologies propres. Alain est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en commerce avec distinction de l'Université Queen's ainsi que d'une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'IMD en Suisse.



Christen Audet, ing.f., Ph.D., vice-président, développement de projet et environnement

À titre de responsable de l'environnement pour le projet Quest depuis 2011, le Dr Audet a coordonné les études environnementales de référence, les analyses de contraintes et la planification des études d’impact. Il a également été un interlocuteur privilégié auprès des gouvernements et des communautés – en particulier dans le renforcement des relations avec les groupes autochtones. Avec 24 ans d’expérience dans la gestion des questions environnementales comme ingénieur forestier, il a contribué à plusieurs autres projets miniers dans le Nord du Québec et au Labrador, ainsi qu’à des projets industriels dans le sud du Québec. Dr. Audet est également expérimenté dans la planification d’activités industrielles durables et la gestion des risques qu’il a acquises comme vérificateur environnemental agréé. Il détient un B.Sc. en gestion des ressources naturelles de l’University of British Columbia (Vancouver) et un doctorat en environnement et anthropologie de l’Institut des sciences et technologies de Paris (AgroParisTech), France.

 

Mark Schneiderman, vice-président et contrôleur

Mark Schneiderman est comptable agréé et examinateur agréé en matière de fraudes. Il détient un baccalauréat en arts de l’Université Sir George Williams University et un baccalauréat en commerce de Loyola College. M. Schneiderman compte plus de 30 ans d’expérience en administration financière, y compris à titre d’associé dans un cabinet comptable et d’un poste de vérificateur principal chez VIA Rail Canada Inc. Il est trésorier de Quest depuis la fondation de l’entreprise. Récemment, M. Schneiderman était directeur financier de Freewest Resources Canada Inc. avant son acquisition par Cliffs Natural Resources Inc en 2010; il a été impliqué avec Freewest depuis 1996.



Julie Masse, Vice-présidente, communication

Professionnelle des communications, Julie Masse possède plus de 20 années d'expérience en gestion stratégique des communications et relations publiques pour des entreprises d'envergure mondiale. Jusqu'à récemment, elle a dirigé les communications et les relations avec les parties prenantes de l'Agence mondiale antidopage (AMA), une organisation faisant l'objet d'une attention constante des médias, milieux politiques, sportifs et publiques. Julie a été directrice des communications chez Bombardier Transport où elle a développé des stratégies de communication mondiale et a dirigé la mise en œuvre des programmes internes et externes dans des environnements complexes avec des enjeux stratégiques, organisationnels et culturels. Elle a aussi travaillé dans le secteur public où ses fonctions l'ont conduite à piloter des interventions de communications dans des contextes où les enjeux socio-économiques et politiques prévalaient. Julie est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en commerce, spécialisation en communication et marketing international de l'Université Concordia.

MANAGEMENT

 

Dirk Naumann, Ph.D., President

Dr. Naumann is a Senior Business Leader with a track record of bringing new technologies and products to the international market. He has his Doctorate in Physical Chemistry with an emphasis in thermodynamics and chemical engineering. During Dr. Naumann’s 30 year career, he has actively been involved in designing new products and processes by managing capital projects from inception, through engineering and construction, to successful market launch. Dr. Naumann has worked for Bayer AG, Inco Ltd. and other resource companies internationally, with a focus on metal extraction and refining, high purity metals, and materials and compounds for specialty applications. More recently, he was an advisor to European and American companies on Process Intensification to improve their efficiency and sustainability by reducing energy consumption and generation of undesirable by-products.

 

Alain Wilson, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Alain is a management consultant with extensive experience in strategy and financial analysis in the metals and mining industries. Over the last 30 years Alain has worked with senior executives on key strategic issues both in North America and internationally. He was a Vice President and Toronto Office Head for Mercer Management Consulting (now Oliver Wyman), and more recently a founding partner of Revelstoke Partners, a boutique consulting firm focused on assisting mid-market companies. He has tackled a variety of challenges in the metals industry, including the rare earth business. Alain has also served as CFO or acting CFO of several private companies, including companies in the Cleantech industry. Alain has an Honours Bachelor of Commerce degree from Queen's University and a Masters of Business Administration from IMD in Switzerland.


 

Christen Audet, F.Eng., Ph.D., Vice President, Project Development and Environment

As Environmental Lead for Quest’s Project since 2011, Dr. Audet has coordinated baseline studies, project constraints analysis and environmental impact assessment planning. He has also played a key role in proactively engaging governments and communities – especially in building relationships with aboriginal groups. His 24 years of applied environmental experience, as a Registered Professional Forester/Forest Engineer, includes several other mining projects in Northern Quebec and Labrador, as well as industrial projects in southern Quebec. Dr. Audet is also experienced in sustainability planning, due diligence and risk management, through his past work as a Certified Environmental Auditor. He holds a B.Sc. in Natural Resource Management from the University of British Columbia (Vancouver) and a Ph.D. in Environment and Anthropology from the Paris Institute of Technology (AgroParisTech), France.

 

Mark Schneiderman, Vice President and Comptroller

Mark Schneiderman is a Chartered Accountant and a Certified Fraud Examiner. He holds a B.A. degree from Sir George Williams University and a B.Com. from Loyola College. Mr. Schneiderman has over 30 years of financial administration experience including partnership in an accounting practice and senior audit position at VIA Rail Canada Inc. He has been Quest's Treasurer since its incorporation. Mr. Schneiderman was recently the Chief Financial Officer of Freewest Resources Canada Inc. prior to its acquisition by Cliffs Natural Resources Inc in 2010 and has been involved with Freewest since 1996.


 

 

Julie Masse, Vice President, Communications

Julie Masse is a proficient communications executive who brings more than 20 years of senior management experience overseeing communications and public relations strategies for global organizations. Until recently, she led the Communications of the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) an organization that is under constant scrutiny from media, governments, sports bodies, athletes and media. Julie served as Director Communications at Bombardier Transportation where she developed worldwide communications strategies and led the implementation of internal and external programs in complex environments with strategic, organizational and cultural challenges. She has also worked in the public sector where she was involved in projects characterised by broad-ranging socio-political and socio-economic dimensions. Julie holds a Bachelor's degree in Commerce - Communications and International Marketing from Concordia University.

 

Yemi Oyediran, Ph.D., M.Sc., Senior Process Metallurgist

Yemi Oyediran is an experienced metallurgist with a solid background in extractive metallurgy of base and rare metals. Before joining the Quest team, he was the lead engineer in the Metallurgical Strategic Metals Group at First Solar. He was responsible for hydrometallurgical flow sheet development and pilot plant operations for the extraction of rare metals. Prior to that role, Yemi was employed by Teck Metals Ltd. in Trail where he managed a variety of projects, operated pilot plants, plant commissioning, de-bottlenecking and liaising with engineering consultants. He served in various operation roles in the Smelter, Sulphide Leach and Specialty Leach Plants.

 

 

Mike Robart, BASc., BSc., Process Metallurgist

Mike Robart is a metallurgist with extensive experience in leaching, solvent extraction, process development, and pilot plant operations. Before joining the Quest team, he worked as a process engineer and metallurgist at Process Research Ortech Inc. on numerous pilot and bench scale development programs, including the program for Quest’s Strange Lake deposit. Mike holds degrees in chemical engineering and biochemistry from the University of Ottawa.